The John J. Mulrooney Award Returns

“In our lifetime, if we are lucky, we meet someone who truly makes a difference in our life…”

John.J.Mulrooney.JPGIn 1979, the prestigious John J. Mulrooney Award was established by the North American Wholesale Lumber Association (NAWLA). The intent was to commemorate Mr. Mulrooney's life and career, emphasizing his significant and long-lasting contributions to the forest products industry.

Driven by concerns for NAWLA’s long-term stability, Mr. Mulrooney chose to leave his successful wholesale business to assume the role of NAWLA Chief of Staff Executive in 1960, and led the organization until his unexpected passing 19 years later. His steadfast leadership and analytical mind allowed him to shepherd the organization through many challenges, including the federal price controls imposed during the Nixon administration.

Soon after his death, the Mulrooney Award was created to honor Mr. Mulrooney's memory and recognize others who exhibit similar devotion to the forest products industry. Since 1980, NAWLA has recognized 30 outstanding individuals with this prominent award. We are pleased to open the nomination process for the 31st recipient. 

This award will be presented at the 2018 Traders Market to an individual who has made significant contributions to the forest products industry. Candidates must also have demonstrated strong personal integrity and a record of service to others.

Nominations are being accepted until July 16, 2018. 

Click Here to Submit a Nomination

Past Recipients 

1980 - J. Ward Allen
1981 - Leroy McCormick
1982 - Hugh Brady
1983 - Louis Huettl
1984 - James Bishop
1985 - Richard Davis
1986 - Warren Hood
1987 - Lester Anderson
1988 - Paul Volcker
1989 - Harry Merlo
1990 - Jack McCracken
1991 - Kenneth Ford
1992 - David Mittell
1994 - John Hampton
1995 - William Swindells
1996 - William Stimpson
1997 - John Furman
1998 - Paul McCracken
1999 - Chris Snavely
2000 - John and Tom Richards
2001 - C.E. "Buddy" Klumb
2002 - John Tyler (J.T.) McShan
2003 - Ted Bloch
2004 - Gordon King
2005 - W.W. Wood
2006 - A.A. "Red" Emmerson
2007 - Tom Tomjack
2008 - Henry Poler
2009 - Aurda Anthony
2010 - Dennis Downer
Recent Stories
What to Watch For in 2022: Regulatory/Compliance

Surviving The Great Resignation

How to Parlay a Pandemic