The Mulrooney Award

Congratulations to Jim Robbins, Sr., the 2020 Mulrooney Award recipient.

Jim has held various positions in industry organizations over the years, including but not limited to NAWLA, Northeastern Lumber Manufacturers Association, National Forest Products Association, Northeast Retail Lumber Association, Maine Forest Products Council, Forest Products Group Trust, the American Forestry Council, served on the Executive Committee of the Maine Forest Economy Growth Initiative, the Statewide Wood Energy Assistance Team, the Maine Christmas Tree Association, the Forest Society of Maine, Georges River Land Trust, and more. He was the first manufacturer to be elected to the Board of Directors for NAWLA. Jim continues to be active on committees well into retirement. He was a Scoutmaster for over 21 years, President of the Katahdin Area Council, received the Silver Beaver Award from Boy Scouts of America, served in the Navy as a survival instructor, and is a leader in his local church. Jim is known in the industry for his passionate promotion of the Eastern White Pine, and the forest industry as a whole.

In its 125 year history, the North American Wholesale Lumber Association has seen many great leaders. One of those was John J. Mulrooney, a career lumber wholesaler who later served as NAWLA’s chief executive for nearly 20 years until his untimely death in 1979.

NAWLA established the John J. Mulrooney award to commemorate his life and career, emphasizing his important contributions to the forest products industry. Since his passing, NAWLA has recognized an elite group of individuals who exemplify the qualities Mulrooney embodied: steadfast leadership, strategic thinking, personal integrity, and service to others.

Past Recipients 

1980 - J. Ward Allen
1981 - Leroy McCormick
1982 - Hugh Brady
1983 - Louis Huettl
1984 - James Bishop
1985 - Richard Davis
1986 - Warren Hood
1987 - Lester Anderson
1988 - Paul Volcker
1989 - Harry Merlo
1990 - Jack McCracken
1991 - Kenneth Ford
1992 - David Mittell
1994 - John Hampton
1995 - William Swindells

1996 - William Stimpson
1997 - John Furman
1998 - Paul McCracken
1999 - Chris Snavely
2000 - John and Tom Richards
2001 - C.E. "Buddy" Klumb
2002 - John Tyler (J.T.) McShan
2003 - Ted Bloch
2004 - Gordon King
2005 - W.W. Wood
2006 - A.A. "Red" Emmerson
2007 - Tom Tomjack
2008 - Henry Poler
2009 - Aubra Anthony
2010 - Dennis Downer
2019 - Jack McKinnon